Define Success…


How do you define success?

I have written so many draft blogs about this topic and never post them. I don’t post them because my intention is to bring up a topic close to my heart and not to offend anyone. So hopefully I can share this time and feel like I used the right words to share my thoughts without trying to demolish others. 

Success. 

When I googled the word success it was defined for me as, “the attainment of popularity or profit” the synonyms it gave were; prosperity, wealth, and riches. 

From the view of our society I would say my family of almost four is looked at as close to successful but not actually successful. My husband and I both have college degrees, my husband has an amazing job with job security. My husband works really hard every day to provide for our family. We own nice newer cars. We wear nicer clothes. I don’t have a job outside of the home, we don’t own a home, and we don’t own all the top best technology. 

My view of what society thinks could be wrong, but I see society as materialistic and money. Just as Google said, wealth and riches. If you have the nice new stuff and money then you are successful. What do you think?

I was talking to an amazing friend of mine this week and she was talking about how rich she is. And when she talked about her wealth, she wasn’t talking about money. Man that conversation was such a breath of fresh air! 

She was telling me how she is rich in relationships, in her marriage, in her community and church, and rich in family. 

That’s so amazing. 

I want to remember this conversation when the pressures of society kick in and say you have to have the newest and nicest thing. You have to graduate college to be successful. You have to have a job paying salary to be successful. You have to own a home and your kids all need smart phones to be successful.

That’s not what life is about.

For years I’ve had such a hard time with this topic. 

I didn’t want to go to college. I went because I got an amazing opportunity and have a degree in case one day I need a job. But my heart was not in school. My call was and is to be a mom.

My job is a mom. And my blood starts to boil when I hear demeaning comments of how ridiculous it is to be a stay at home mom, or how I do nothing all day, or how I’m lazy. 

Some woman are called to be moms that work, and some moms are single moms and do it all. I’m for every mom out there because it is the hardest job I have ever had and I’ve had some hard jobs! But it is also the best job! 

I’m rich in my job, and my job pays in sneezes to my face, stepping in pee, cooking or preparing meals all day, sticky kisses, muddy handprints, man I can keep going! But my job does not pay in money, but I feel more rich than when I worked full time. 

I feel successful now. And for sure its a struggle sometimes to stay away from society’s view of success and wealth, but that’s why you surround yourself with amazing women or men of God that remind you what success and wealth really is all about. And this topic can go so many ways and I have so many thoughts about it…

But I also do not mean to offend anyone who is a full time, hard working, parent or no parent. God calls us to all different directions and we were all created uniquely to serve him. 

My job is to raise my children up to be fierce, brave, wise, loving, and bold men and women of God. That they go out and serve the Lord. They are my legacy, not the diploma on my wall. I have a very important job in my life. 

I also want them to know what God sees as success and I want to raise them to have the passion to seek Gods heart and his call on their life. That if college is what he plans for them, that they go. If mission work is his call for them, that they go. They go out and do what God has created them to do. Because if they and we are doing what God calls us to do, it doesn’t matter what the dollar amount we bring home, he will take care of us. God tells us more than once in His Word but I like Luke 12:27, “Look at the lilies and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are”, God will provide for us. And it’s also amazing to see God provide for us! To fully rely on him, live in faith and his call on our life instead of what we feel like we need to do by the standard and pressures of our society. 

How rich are you? 

How do you define success? 

What really matters when we die and go to heaven? 

So many thoughts… So late at night! I really would love to hear thoughts and share verses I have found on my calling of how important my roll is as a mother, and in all of this, I never intend to offend anyone that is living differently than I am.

I truly just want to change what society sees as successful. I don’t want us to be caught up in the “American Dream” that doesn’t lead to happiness or the calling God has on your life. 

I pray you are rich in love, family, relationships and community like my beautiful friend is. That you pour into others and seek from the wise. That you surround yourself with men and women that won’t lead you astray from Christ, instead encourage you and your relationship with him. 

And a huge shout out to my husband who works so hard every day. Who wakes up and goes to work and gives his job his all. That provides for our family and allows me to stay home and live out my calling at home. You make me feel rich and so wealthy. I love you. 

xoxo kymberly

💗
Picture I found on Google. 

Leave a Reply

