Prepared Mother?

I think that’s funny.

The words prepared and mother in the same sentence. I mean maybe there is super hero moms out there that are able to be all knowing and prepare for the next day, (I would love tips from them) but I for sure am not one of them. 

It’s hard for me. I am a planner. I am organized. I like having a full calendar, but I love when my calendar is color coded and looks pretty. But most weeks there is a lot of late add ins and a lot of scratched out plans. 

I can’t ever be prepared. 

And this is not new to me. I have a two year old, I learned it years ago with him. Play dates fall thru due to illness. Late to church due to spit up and blow out diaper that needs an outfit change. So many factors that come into play when a little human determines your day that you can’t be fully prepared. You have to just roll with it. 

But I really tried to be prepared for this next baby. 

I looked up as much advice as I could about meal planning and freezer meals. How to prepare a toddler older sibling. What was recommended for the siblings to first meet. And not only siblings, but a big brother is different than a big sister. So looking into advice for toddler big brothers. 

I meal planned two months in advance, wrote hesitant grocery lists for those weeks, packed hospital bags, packed Nathan a bag for who has him during labor, got Nathan big brother gifts, stalked up on toilet paper, coffee, and laundry detergent. I wrote out Nathan’s schedule and his eating schedule for whoever has him when I’m in labor. I tried to do everything that every mom suggested to me. And I tried to do everything that I knew I wouldn’t be able to do with a newborn. Like clean the bathrooms real well, or be make some yummy dinners, or catch up on random laundry items like the rugs and towels. 

Then we found out we’re moving in a couple weeks. 

Well that changes things! 

So now add packing to the list before baby girl comes! Add deep cleaning to the laundry, dishes, and quality one on one time with my main little 2 year old before he isn’t an only child anymore. 

I caught up on my to-do list of cleaning and being “prepared”. I don’t want to come home with a new baby to a messy house! But then another week passes and I’m still pregnant and all those chores need to be done again. The sheets need to be washed, the floor needs to be mopped, the gold fish crackers need to be vacuumed up…. It doesn’t end. 

I can’t be fully prepared for her to be born and come home. 

Yes, all her laundry is done. Yes, her room and bassinet is all set up and ready. Yes, her diapers and wipes have been purchased for a good amount of future weeks. Yes, I am ready for her. 

But as prepared as I want to be and ready as I want to be, every day I am learning more and more that I am never going to be prepared and ready. The chores are not going to be done every week, as much as I stalked up on items, I just found were out of toothpaste, and we might not be fully stalked up on food like I hoped, and that needs to be okay. 

I just got to roll with it. I just need to breath and let life happen. 

It’s all going to be okay. 

xoxo kymberly

💗

Leave a Reply

